Documents and Publications

Joint Implementation Plan

Annual Work Plans

Integrated Oil Sands Environment Monitoring Plan

  • Analysis of Current and Historical Surface Water Monitoring Programs and Activities in the Athabasca Oil Sands Area, to 2011 (PDF; 9.2 MB*) (2013)

    Component 2 is a bibliographic compilation of water-related monitoring programs and activities in the Athabasca oil sands area prior to the implementation of the Integrated Monitoring Plan for the Oil Sands. It comprises an information table of parameters sampled by the most relevant ongoing and historical programs and activities, annotated abstracts and descriptions of relevant programs and studies, notes on particularly relevant organizations, and maps of monitoring locations and other information, up to July 2011.

  • Existing and Historical Water Monitoring in the Phase 2 Geographic Expansion Area, to 2011 (PDF; 8.3 MB*) (2013)

    This report is a bibliographic compilation of water-related monitoring programs and activities in the Expanded Geographic Extent prior to the implementation of the Integrated Monitoring Plan for the Oil Sands, up to July 2011.

  • An Integrated Oil Sands Environment Monitoring Plan (PDF; 2.1 MB*) (2011)

    This integrated oil sands monitoring program framework and proposed sampling design outlines the key principles that were identified by the Federal Oil Sands Advisory Panel for the design and implementation of a “world-class” monitoring program.

  • Lower Athabasca Water Quality Monitoring Plan Phase 1 (2011)

    This Phase 1 plan deals with surface water quality monitoring in the mainstem of the Athabasca River, and its major tributaries, between Fort McMurray and the Wood Buffalo National Park boundary. It focuses on the physical and chemical attributes of water quality.

  • Expanded Geographic Extent for Water Quality and Quantity, Aquatic Biodiversity and Effects, and Acid Sensitive Lake Component (PDF; 2.6 MB*) (2011)

    This document provides details for the additional aquatic monitoring components that have been added and integrated with the Phase 1 Water Quality Plan, and provides an expanded geographic coverage of relevant watersheds, as well as on the related media‐specific (air, water, land, biota) aquatic and terrestrial ecosystem components.

  • Terrestrial Biodiversity Component (PDF; 2.5MB*) (2011)

    This document addresses the terrestrial biodiversity monitoring component of the Phase 2 Monitoring Plan. It is divided into two important elements: (1) monitoring the impacts of oil sands‐related contaminants on selected wildlife indicators, including birds, mammals, amphibians and plants, with a view to identifying broader implications for biodiversity in the region; and (2) monitoring the impact of habitat disturbance and mitigation on terrestrial biodiversity.

  • Air Quality Component (PDF; 1.5 MB*) (2011)

    The air quality component of the integrated air, water, habitat and biodiversity monitoring plan is focused on the monitoring needs required to understand air pollutant emissions, their chemical transformation in the atmosphere, long‐range transport and subsequent deposition to the local and regional environment.

Federal Panel Report

Documents et Publications

Plan de mise en œuvre conjoint

Plans de travaille annuels

Plan de surveillance de l’environnement intégré des sables bitumineux

  • Analyse des activités et des programmes passés et actuels de surveillance des eauxde surface dans la région des sables bitumineux d'Athabasca, (jusqu'en 2011) (PDF; 9.0 Mo*) (2013)

    Le deuxième volet est une compilation bibliographique des programmes et activités de surveillance de l'eau dans la région des sables bitumineux d'Athabasca préalablement à la mise en oeuvre du plan de surveillance intégré des sables bitumineux. Il comprend un tableau de données sur les paramètres échantillonnés dans le cadre des activités et des programmes actuels et historiques les plus pertinents, des abrégés annotés et des descriptions des études et des programmes pertinents, des notes sur les organismes particulièrement pertinents, ainsi que des cartes des sites de surveillance et d'autres renseignements, couvrant la période allant jusqu'en juillet 2011.

  • Activités de surveillance actuelles et historiques de l'eau pour la phase 2 de la zone d'expansion géographique (jusqu'en 2011) (PDF; 7.8 Mo*) (2013)

    Le présent rapport est une compilation bibliographique des programmes et activités de surveillance de l'eau au sein de l'étendue géographique élargie préalablement à la mise en oeuvre du plan de surveillance intégré des sables bitumineux, couvrant la période allant jusqu'en juillet 2011.

  • Plan de surveillance de l’environnement intégré des sables bitumineux (PDF; 2,1 Mo*) (2011)

    Ce cadre du programme de surveillance intégré des sables bitumineux et le modèle d'échantillonnage proposé décrivent les principes clés qui ont été définis par le groupe consultatif fédéral sur les sables bitumineux pour la conception et la mise en œuvre d'un programme de surveillance de « calibre mondial ».

  • Plan de surveillance de la qualité de l'eau du cours inférieur de la rivière Athabasca : Phase 1 (2011)

    Ce plan de la phase 1 porte sur la surveillance de la qualité des eaux de surface dans le tronçon principal de la rivière Athabasca et ses principaux affluents, entre Fort McMurray et la limite du parc national Wood Buffalo. Il est axé sur les caractéristiques physiques et chimiques de la qualité de l'eau.

  • Portée géographique étendue pour la composante liée à la qualité de l’eau et de sa quantité, à la biodiversité aquatique, aux effets et aux lacs sensibles aux acides (PDF; 2,6 Mo*) (2011)

    Ce document fournit des détails sur les autres composantes de surveillance aquatique qui ont été ajoutées et intégrées au plan sur la qualité de l'eau de la phase 1, en plus d'offrir une couverture géographique étendue des bassins versants pertinents, ainsi que sur les composantes liées à l'écosystème aquatique et terrestre connexes propres à un milieu (air, eau, terre, biote).

  • Composante liée à la biodiversité terrestre (PDF; 2,5 Mo*) (2011)

    Ce document porte sur la composante liée à la surveillance de la biodiversité terrestre du plan de surveillance. Il est divisé en deux éléments importants : 1) surveillance des répercussions des contaminants liés aux sables bitumineux sur certains indicateurs fauniques (dont les oiseaux, les mammifères, les amphibiens et les plantes) afin de déterminer les conséquences plus larges pour la biodiversité dans la région; 2) surveillance des répercussions de la perturbation de l'habitat et des mesures d'atténuation sur la biodiversité terrestre.

  • Composante liée à la qualité de l'air (PDF; 1,5 Mo*) (2011)

    La composante liée à la qualité de l'air du plan de surveillance intégré de la biodiversité, de l'air et de l'eau est axée sur les besoins en matière de surveillance pour comprendre les émissions de polluants atmosphériques, leur transformation chimique dans l'atmosphère, leur transport à grande distance et leur dépôt subséquent dans l'environnement local et régional.

Rapport du groupe consultatif fédéral