Skip booklet index and go to page content

Second Annual Report: 2013 to 2014

Second Annual Report: 2013 to 2014 (PDF, 446 Kb)

Preface

This Annual Report was prepared by the Alberta Environmental Monitoring Evaluation and Reporting Agency (AEMERA) and Environment Canada.

The report presents information on the progress made in year two (April 1, 2013 to March 31, 2014) of the Implementation Plan. The scope of this report covers the second year of the three-year Joint Canada/Alberta Implementation Plan for Oil Sands Monitoring, which is co-led by Alberta Environment and Sustainable Resource Development on behalf of the Government of Alberta and Environment Canada on behalf of the Government of Canada.

The Alberta Environmental Monitoring, Evaluation and Reporting Agency (AEMERA) assumed provincial responsibility for the Joint Canada-Alberta Plan for Oil Sands Monitoring (JOSM) upon the proclamation of the Protecting Alberta’s Environment Act on April 28, 2014. Since its establishment, the Agency has led the Government of Alberta's contributions and input to JOSM, including the preparation of this report.

Executive summary

The Joint Canada/Alberta Implementation Plan outlines how the governments of Alberta and Canada will work together as partners to implement a world class monitoring program for the oil sands that integrates air, water, land and biodiversity. Monitoring commitments made by the governments in the Implementation Plan are intended to improve characterization of the state of the environment as well as understanding the cumulative effects of activities in the oil sands area.

The Implementation Plan is funded by industry to a maximum of $50 million annually. The approach to implementation is both phased (2012 to 2015) and adaptive to ensure governments are responsive to the priorities that emerge through new information and knowledge, and input from key stakeholders.

Working together in year two (2013 to 2014), Canada and Alberta made progress on various fronts including strengthening the Joint Oil Sands Monitoring governance and planning structures to meet the commitments and objectives outlined in the Implementation Plan.

The Government of Alberta made notable progress in creating the conditions for achieving commitments made under the Joint Implementation Plan through legislative and regulatory changes to support ambient environmental monitoring province-wide.

This annual report presents highlights of progress made against commitments and objectives, and a technical annex summarising monitoring activities in the second year (2013 to 2014) of the Implementation Plan.

Table of Contents

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Deuxième rapport annuel de 2013 à 2014

Deuxième rapport annuel de 2013 à 2014 (PDF, 506 Ko)

Préface

Le présent rapport annuel est produit par l’Alberta Environmental Monitoring, Evaluation and Reporting Agency (AEMERA) et Environnement Canada.

Il renseigne sur les progrès de la deuxième année (du 1er avril 2013 au 31 mars 2014) dans la réalisation du plan de mise en œuvre conjoint Canada-Alberta de la surveillance des sables bitumineux (« le plan de mise en œuvre »). Il vise cette année intermédiaire du plan de mise en œuvre exercice codirigé par Environnement et Exploitation durable des ressources Alberta au nom du gouvernement de l’Alberta, d’une part, et par Environnement Canada au nom du gouvernement du Canada, d’autre part.

L’AEMERA a assumé la responsabilité provinciale du plan de mise en œuvre à la promulgation de la Protecting Alberta’s Environment Act le 28 avril 2014. Depuis sa création, cet organisme a dirigé la contribution apportée au plan de mise en œuvre par le gouvernement albertain, ce qui comprend l’élaboration du présent rapport.

Sommaire

Le plan de mise en œuvre décrit comment les gouvernements de l’Alberta et du Canada collaborent à la mise en application de ce plan de classe internationale pour la surveillance des sables bitumineux où sont intégrés les volets de l’air, de l’eau, de la terre et de la biodiversité. Les engagements pris par les gouvernements en matière de surveillance dans le cadre du plan de mise en œuvre visent à améliorer la caractérisation de l’état de l’environnement, ainsi que notre compréhension des effets cumulatifs des activités qui s’exercent dans la région des sables bitumineux.

Le plan est financé par l’industrie à hauteur de 50 millions de dollars chaque année. La démarche de mise en œuvre est à la fois échelonnée (période 2012 à 2015) et adaptée, d’où une réactivité des gouvernements aux priorités qui se font jour par les nouveaux renseignements et les nouvelles connaissances, ainsi que par les apports des intervenants clés.

Dans leur collaboration de cette deuxième année (2013 à 2014), le Canada et l’Alberta ont fait des progrès sur divers fronts et notamment renforcé les structures de gouvernance et de planification du plan en fonction des engagements et des objectifs qui y sont énoncés.

Le gouvernement de l’Alberta a progressé notablement dans la création de conditions lui permettant de tenir les engagements du plan grâce à des modifications législatives et réglementaires qui facilitent la surveillance des conditions ambiantes à l’échelle de la province.

Le présent rapport dégage les grandes lignes des progrès accomplis par rapport aux engagements et aux objectifs. Dans une annexe technique, il résume les activités de surveillance qui ont eu lieu pendant la deuxième année (2013 à 2014) du plan de mise en œuvre.

Table des matières