Skip booklet index and go to page content

The Joint Canada | Alberta Implementation Plan for Oil Sands Monitoring - First Annual Report: 2012-2013

Responsible development of the oil sands resource is a priority for the governments of Canada and Alberta and needs to be informed by robust, reliable monitoring of the environmental impacts. Monitoring the environmental performance of the oil sands industry has been required by regulatory operating approvals, licences and permits since industrial extraction began in 1967. With the increased pace and scale of development, and based on recommendations from expert panels, the governments of Canada and Alberta jointly agreed to enhance and integrate existing environmental monitoring to better assess the cumulative environmental impacts of development.

On February 3, 2012, the federal and provincial environment ministers jointly announced the Joint Canada-Alberta Implementation Plan for Oil Sands Monitoring (the Implementation Plan), committing the two governments to implementing a scientifically rigorous, comprehensive, integrated and transparent environmental monitoring program for the region. The Implementation Plan describes a phased implementation of enhanced monitoring activities over three years (2012–2015), and the rationalization and integration of current monitoring arrangements into a single, government-led program under the joint management of the two governments. The result will be an improved characterization of the state of the environment in the oil sands area and an enhanced understanding of cumulative effects and environmental change.

The Implementation Plan also commits the governments to reporting annually on the progress made in carrying out the activities laid out in the Implementation Plan. This annual report highlights progress made during the first year of the Implementation Plan (2012–2013) and includes a brief summary of initial findings. Details of monitoring results, evaluation and reports can be found on the Canada-Alberta Oil Sands Environmental Monitoring Information Portal (the Portal) and links contained therein.

Introduction

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Plan de mise en œuvre conjoint Canada/Alberta pour la surveillance visant les sables bitumineux - Premier rapport annuel : 2012-2013

L’exploitation responsable des sables bitumineux est prioritaire pour les gouvernements du Canada et de l’Alberta et doit être informé de façon, fiable et sûre des impacts environnementaux.  Le suivi de la performance environnementale de l'industrie des sables bitumineux a été requis par des approbations réglementaires d'exploitation, licences et permis, depuis que l'extraction industrielle a commencé en 1967. Compte tenu de l’augmentation du rythme et l’ampleur du développement,  basé sur la base des recommandations des groupes d’experts, les gouvernements du Canada et de l’Alberta ont convenu conjointement d’améliorer et de renforcer l’intégration  des mesures de surveillance de l’environnement afin de mieux évaluer les impacts cumulatifs sur celui-ci.

Le 3 février 2012, les ministres de l’Environnement des deux paliers de gouvernement ont annoncé ensemble le Plan de mise en œuvre conjoint Canada-Alberta pour la surveillance visant les sables bitumineux (Plan de mise en œuvre), engageant les deux gouvernements à réaliser pour la région un programme scientifiquement rigoureux, exhaustif, intégré et transparent de surveillance environnementale. Le Plan décrit la mise en œuvre progressive d’activités renforcées de surveillance sur trois ans (2012-2015), ainsi que des mesures visant à rationaliser les mécanismes de surveillance en place et à les intégrer en un même programme codirigé par les deux gouvernements. Le résultat en sera une meilleure caractérisation de l’état de l’environnement dans la région des sables bitumineux et une compréhension accrue des effets cumulatifs et des changements environnementaux.

Dans le Plan de mise en œuvre, les gouvernements s’engagent aussi à déclarer annuellement les progrès accomplis dans les activités planifiées. Le présent rapport annuel met en évidence les progrès de la première année d’application (2012-2013) et récapitule les premières constatations. On trouvera des détails sur les résultats de la surveillance, l’évaluation et les rapports au Portail d’information Canada-Alberta sur la surveillance environnementale des sables bitumineux (le Portail) avec les hyperliens nécessaires.

Introduction